Item level, crawled nightly
crawl 3 days agoSearch the index
75,944 items985 registries34,217 verified free11,020 verified paid30,707 unverified18,895 previewable live11,371 removed in 30 daysrebuilt 2026-09-13 · captured 2026-09-13

shadcn.io vs Shoogle

2 compared on 6 criteria

On what you get without paying, shadcn.io is A $0-forever tier, community support and Shoogle is Everything on the site. On cheapest paid option, shadcn.io is $32/month, billed annually as $389 (Individual) and Shoogle does not publish it. On what it publishes, shadcn.io is 6,000+ marketing blocks, 14 premium templates, 59 themes, 285k+ React icons and Shoogle is 292 registries; item count not published. On how you install from it, shadcn.io is Its own MCP server, or the editor you already use and Shoogle is Through the official shadcn CLI, as a namespace. On how something gets listed, shadcn.io does not publish it and Shoogle is Pulled from shadcn's own directory, plus submissions. On what it says about the code's quality, shadcn.io is "Production-ready", asserted and Shoogle does not publish it. BlockDex publishes this table and is one of the things in it, so read the case for the other side below rather than taking the table's word for it. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-06; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.

compared2criteria6sources read4verified2026-09-06
Criterionshadcn.ioShoogleWhat you get without payingA $0-forever tier, community supportThe plan comparison publishes four columns and the first is "Free — $0 forever", whose support row reads "community". The same column carries a dash rather than a value on its commercial-use and MCP-usage rows, so what the free tier buys is browsing rather than shipping — that is the page's own table, not an inference about the account.Everything on the siteThere is no pricing page — https://shoogle.dev/pricing returned 404 when this row was checked — and no account gate on browsing, the directory or the MCP endpoint. The only commercial surface anywhere in the navigation is Sponsor, which is the same model SkillWorks runs and the opposite of a per-seat catalogue.Cheapest paid option$32/month, billed annually as $389 (Individual)"Individual — solo developer. $32 per month · billed annually as $389", covering "all access 1 seat, personal & OSS use"; the same plan is $49 a month on monthly billing. Team is $66 a month billed annually as $789 for 5 seats with commercial use, and Organization is $132 a month billed annually as $1589 for unlimited seats. A third tab on the same control offers "lifetime · pay once".Not publishedNo plans, no tiers and no purchase surface. /pricing 404s and the MCP page's only call to action is the Discord. Read as sponsor-funded rather than free-forever: the site publishes no commitment either way, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer.What it publishes6,000+ marketing blocks, 14 premium templates, 59 themes, 285k+ React iconsThe plan-comparison rows enumerate the catalogue by kind rather than as one total: "premium templates (14)", "marketing blocks (6,000+)", "themes (59)", "react icons (285k+)", plus unnumbered rows for UI components, AI components, React hooks, charts, shaders and animations. BlockDex's own nightly crawl counts 7,847 items served from its registry manifest, of which 1,430 item endpoints answered as paid and 70 returned source — the largest single registry in this index.292 registries; item count not published"S 292 registries" on the directory, over the same community set shadcn's own directory lists. The MCP page carries a UI-components counter and a registries counter, but both render as animated digit rollers rather than a number, so the page states no item total. The registry endpoint is bounded rather than complete in another way too: https://shoogle.dev/r/registry.json?q=button answers with pagination {"hasMore":false,"limit":100,"total":100} — a top-100 per query, not a corpus size.How you install from itIts own MCP server, or the editor you already use"One MCP. Every AI agent. Ship faster." is a front-page heading, alongside "Works with the editors you already use". It also serves a shadcn registry manifest from the published site rather than only from a repository, which is what makes its items installable by URL and what BlockDex indexes it through.Through the official shadcn CLI, as a namespace"Search with npx shadcn@latest search @shoogle — filter by type, limit, and offset without leaving your terminal." It is a shadcn registry namespace, so results come back already addressed to their SOURCE registry — the button row of that endpoint carries "addCommandArgument": "@animate-ui/primitives-buttons-button" — and the install runs against the origin registry rather than through Shoogle. The same index is also served as an MCP server over streamable HTTP for Claude, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code and Cline. No other entry in this table is reachable from inside the CLI.How something gets listedNot publishedNeither the front page nor the pricing page publishes a submission route, contribution terms, or an arrangement for third-party authors. Both were read on 20 August 2026. The showcase sections on the front page — "Built with shadcn.io", "Devs love shadcn.io" — are sites using the catalogue, not authors publishing into it.Pulled from shadcn's own directory, plus submissions"Community registries pulled from the shadcn/ui directory, with sorting to make it easier to track newly added registries." So the inclusion decision is shadcn's, not Shoogle's, with a documented route for a registry that is not in it yet. Categories are assigned per registry — Design System, Marketing UI, AI Blocks and twenty more — and the sort is by when the registry was added.What it says about the code's quality"Production-ready", asserted"Production-ready React components your team can copy, paste, and ship today" is the pricing page's own subtitle, and the front page repeats the word. Nothing on either page describes a review step, a test suite or an automated check that a component builds — the claim is authorship and finish, made directly. No entry in this table publishes a build check, which is the gap BlockDex crawls all of them for.Not publishedNothing on the directory or the MCP page claims review, curation, testing or any check of the code behind a listing. The one quality statement the site makes is about itself: every page carries an Alpha badge beside the wordmark.

BlockDex publishes this table and is not one of the 2 compared. "Not published" means that company does not state the figure on the page cited below. It is not a claim that no such figure exists: this table prints what was read, not what was inferred.

shadcn.io vs Shoogle — what you get without paying?

shadcn.io: A $0-forever tier, community support. The plan comparison publishes four columns and the first is "Free — $0 forever", whose support row reads "community". The same column carries a dash rather than a value on its commercial-use and MCP-usage rows, so what the free tier buys is browsing rather than shipping — that is the page's own table, not an inference about the account. Shoogle: Everything on the site. There is no pricing page — https://shoogle.dev/pricing returned 404 when this row was checked — and no account gate on browsing, the directory or the MCP endpoint. The only commercial surface anywhere in the navigation is Sponsor, which is the same model SkillWorks runs and the opposite of a per-seat catalogue. Read from shadcn.io and shoogle.dev on 2026-09-06.

shadcn.io vs Shoogle — cheapest paid option?

shadcn.io: $32/month, billed annually as $389 (Individual). "Individual — solo developer. $32 per month · billed annually as $389", covering "all access 1 seat, personal & OSS use"; the same plan is $49 a month on monthly billing. Team is $66 a month billed annually as $789 for 5 seats with commercial use, and Organization is $132 a month billed annually as $1589 for unlimited seats. A third tab on the same control offers "lifetime · pay once". Shoogle does not state it on shoogle.dev. No plans, no tiers and no purchase surface. /pricing 404s and the MCP page's only call to action is the Discord. Read as sponsor-funded rather than free-forever: the site publishes no commitment either way, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer. Read from shadcn.io and shoogle.dev on 2026-09-06.

shadcn.io vs Shoogle — what it publishes?

shadcn.io: 6,000+ marketing blocks, 14 premium templates, 59 themes, 285k+ React icons. The plan-comparison rows enumerate the catalogue by kind rather than as one total: "premium templates (14)", "marketing blocks (6,000+)", "themes (59)", "react icons (285k+)", plus unnumbered rows for UI components, AI components, React hooks, charts, shaders and animations. BlockDex's own nightly crawl counts 7,847 items served from its registry manifest, of which 1,430 item endpoints answered as paid and 70 returned source — the largest single registry in this index. Shoogle: 292 registries; item count not published. "S 292 registries" on the directory, over the same community set shadcn's own directory lists. The MCP page carries a UI-components counter and a registries counter, but both render as animated digit rollers rather than a number, so the page states no item total. The registry endpoint is bounded rather than complete in another way too: https://shoogle.dev/r/registry.json?q=button answers with pagination {"hasMore":false,"limit":100,"total":100} — a top-100 per query, not a corpus size. Read from shadcn.io and shoogle.dev on 2026-09-06.

When should I pick shadcn.io, and when Shoogle?

shadcn.io — You want one paid licence that covers the whole surface — sections, icons, themes, hooks — and you drive your editor with an agent rather than a CLI. It is by a wide margin the largest registry in this index at 7,847 items crawled, its own pricing page counts "marketing blocks (6,000+)" and "react icons (285k+)" behind a single seat, and it publishes an MCP server so an agent pulls from it without a copy-paste step: "One MCP. Every AI agent. Ship faster." It also has the lowest-commitment way in of the paid entries here, a $0-forever tier you can browse from before deciding. Shoogle — You want the answer inside the tool you are already in rather than in a browser tab. Shoogle is the only one here that registers as a shadcn NAMESPACE, so `npx shadcn@latest search @shoogle` searches across community registries from the terminal and the install runs through the official CLI — no site, no copy-paste, and the same route works from any MCP client that speaks streamable HTTP. It is the shortest path from "is there a component for this" to the component being in the project. It also labels itself Alpha, and it publishes no figure for how many items that search covers.

When each of these is the right pick

BlockDex does not sell any of these and scores them. Each case below is the one that option wins.

  • shadcn.io: You want one paid licence that covers the whole surface — sections, icons, themes, hooks — and you drive your editor with an agent rather than a CLI. It is by a wide margin the largest registry in this index at 7,847 items crawled, its own pricing page counts "marketing blocks (6,000+)" and "react icons (285k+)" behind a single seat, and it publishes an MCP server so an agent pulls from it without a copy-paste step: "One MCP. Every AI agent. Ship faster." It also has the lowest-commitment way in of the paid entries here, a $0-forever tier you can browse from before deciding.
  • Shoogle: You want the answer inside the tool you are already in rather than in a browser tab. Shoogle is the only one here that registers as a shadcn NAMESPACE, so `npx shadcn@latest search @shoogle` searches across community registries from the terminal and the install runs through the official CLI — no site, no copy-paste, and the same route works from any MCP client that speaks streamable HTTP. It is the shortest path from "is there a component for this" to the component being in the project. It also labels itself Alpha, and it publishes no figure for how many items that search covers.

Other shadcn registries and block libraries compared head to head

What was checked, and when

Prices and limits move. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it on the day they read this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.

Every cell above was confirmed against its own source on or since 2026-09-06. /compare/shadcn-io-vs-shoogle