Item level, crawled nightly
crawl 3 days agoSearch the index
75,944 items985 registries34,217 verified free11,020 verified paid30,707 unverified18,895 previewable live11,371 removed in 30 daysrebuilt 2026-09-13 · captured 2026-09-13

21st.dev vs Shoogle

2 compared on 6 criteria

On what you get without paying, 21st.dev does not publish it and Shoogle is Everything on the site. On cheapest paid option, 21st.dev is $6/month, billed yearly (Builder) and Shoogle does not publish it. On what it publishes, 21st.dev is 12,000+ components, templates and themes and Shoogle is 292 registries; item count not published. On how you install from it, 21st.dev is Copy a prompt, or MCP and CLI and Shoogle is Through the official shadcn CLI, as a namespace. On how something gets listed, 21st.dev does not publish it and Shoogle is Pulled from shadcn's own directory, plus submissions. On what it says about the code's quality, 21st.dev is Authorship, stated as the guarantee and Shoogle does not publish it. BlockDex publishes this table and is one of the things in it, so read the case for the other side below rather than taking the table's word for it. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-06; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.

compared2criteria6sources read4verified2026-09-06
Criterion21st.devShoogleWhat you get without payingNot publishedThe pricing page publishes three plans — Builder, Builder + AI and Team — and none of them is a free tier. Browsing the catalogue does not appear to require an account, but the site publishes no free plan, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer.Everything on the siteThere is no pricing page — https://shoogle.dev/pricing returned 404 when this row was checked — and no account gate on browsing, the directory or the MCP endpoint. The only commercial surface anywhere in the navigation is Sponsor, which is the same model SkillWorks runs and the opposite of a per-seat catalogue.Cheapest paid option$6/month, billed yearly (Builder)"Builder — for individuals. $6 per month billed yearly." Builder + AI is $15 a month on the same terms and adds 500–2,000 monthly AI credits; Team is per seat. A yearly/quarterly toggle on the page offers "save 25%".Not publishedNo plans, no tiers and no purchase surface. /pricing 404s and the MCP page's only call to action is the Discord. Read as sponsor-funded rather than free-forever: the site publishes no commitment either way, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer.What it publishes12,000+ components, templates and themes"The living library of interfaces. 12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes." Broken down on the same page as 2,000+ marketing blocks and 2,100+ UI components, with "used by 3,190,767 builders".292 registries; item count not published"S 292 registries" on the directory, over the same community set shadcn's own directory lists. The MCP page carries a UI-components counter and a registries counter, but both render as animated digit rollers rather than a number, so the page states no item total. The registry endpoint is bounded rather than complete in another way too: https://shoogle.dev/r/registry.json?q=button answers with pagination {"hasMore":false,"limit":100,"total":100} — a top-100 per query, not a corpus size.How you install from itCopy a prompt, or MCP and CLIThe primary route is the prompt — "Copy the prompt. Paste it anywhere" — with unlimited MCP and CLI retrieval listed on every paid tier: "search components via mcp & cli", "unlimited installs via mcp & cli". The only one of the four that installs by pasting into an agent.Through the official shadcn CLI, as a namespace"Search with npx shadcn@latest search @shoogle — filter by type, limit, and offset without leaving your terminal." It is a shadcn registry namespace, so results come back already addressed to their SOURCE registry — the button row of that endpoint carries "addCommandArgument": "@animate-ui/primitives-buttons-button" — and the install runs against the origin registry rather than through Shoogle. The same index is also served as an MCP server over streamable HTTP for Claude, Cursor, Windsurf, VS Code and Cline. No other entry in this table is reachable from inside the CLI.How something gets listedNot publishedNeither the pricing page nor the front page publishes a submission or contribution route for getting a component into the marketplace, or terms for authors who do. Both were read on 14 August 2026.Pulled from shadcn's own directory, plus submissions"Community registries pulled from the shadcn/ui directory, with sorting to make it easier to track newly added registries." So the inclusion decision is shadcn's, not Shoogle's, with a documented route for a registry that is not in it yet. Categories are assigned per registry — Design System, Marketing UI, AI Blocks and twenty more — and the sort is by when the registry was added.What it says about the code's qualityAuthorship, stated as the guaranteeThe claim is about who wrote it rather than about what checks it: "built by real design engineers", under a pricing-page headline that reads "Keep the web free of AI slop". No review process, test or automated check is published.Not publishedNothing on the directory or the MCP page claims review, curation, testing or any check of the code behind a listing. The one quality statement the site makes is about itself: every page carries an Alpha badge beside the wordmark.

BlockDex publishes this table and is not one of the 2 compared. "Not published" means that company does not state the figure on the page cited below. It is not a claim that no such figure exists: this table prints what was read, not what was inferred.

21st.dev vs Shoogle — what you get without paying?

21st.dev does not state it on 21st.dev. The pricing page publishes three plans — Builder, Builder + AI and Team — and none of them is a free tier. Browsing the catalogue does not appear to require an account, but the site publishes no free plan, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer. Shoogle: Everything on the site. There is no pricing page — https://shoogle.dev/pricing returned 404 when this row was checked — and no account gate on browsing, the directory or the MCP endpoint. The only commercial surface anywhere in the navigation is Sponsor, which is the same model SkillWorks runs and the opposite of a per-seat catalogue. Read from 21st.dev and shoogle.dev on 2026-09-06.

21st.dev vs Shoogle — cheapest paid option?

21st.dev: $6/month, billed yearly (Builder). "Builder — for individuals. $6 per month billed yearly." Builder + AI is $15 a month on the same terms and adds 500–2,000 monthly AI credits; Team is per seat. A yearly/quarterly toggle on the page offers "save 25%". Shoogle does not state it on shoogle.dev. No plans, no tiers and no purchase surface. /pricing 404s and the MCP page's only call to action is the Discord. Read as sponsor-funded rather than free-forever: the site publishes no commitment either way, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer. Read from 21st.dev and shoogle.dev on 2026-09-06.

21st.dev vs Shoogle — what it publishes?

21st.dev: 12,000+ components, templates and themes. "The living library of interfaces. 12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes." Broken down on the same page as 2,000+ marketing blocks and 2,100+ UI components, with "used by 3,190,767 builders". Shoogle: 292 registries; item count not published. "S 292 registries" on the directory, over the same community set shadcn's own directory lists. The MCP page carries a UI-components counter and a registries counter, but both render as animated digit rollers rather than a number, so the page states no item total. The registry endpoint is bounded rather than complete in another way too: https://shoogle.dev/r/registry.json?q=button answers with pagination {"hasMore":false,"limit":100,"total":100} — a top-100 per query, not a corpus size. Read from 21st.dev and shoogle.dev on 2026-09-06.

When should I pick 21st.dev, and when Shoogle?

21st.dev — You want breadth and you work by pasting a prompt into an agent rather than by running a CLI. It is the largest catalogue of the four at "12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes", it is the only one whose delivery mechanism is the prompt itself — "every component ships as a prompt. One copy - and it builds itself in whatever tool you live in" — and it is the cheapest recurring entry here at $6 a month billed yearly, with unlimited MCP and CLI retrieval on that tier. Shoogle — You want the answer inside the tool you are already in rather than in a browser tab. Shoogle is the only one here that registers as a shadcn NAMESPACE, so `npx shadcn@latest search @shoogle` searches across community registries from the terminal and the install runs through the official CLI — no site, no copy-paste, and the same route works from any MCP client that speaks streamable HTTP. It is the shortest path from "is there a component for this" to the component being in the project. It also labels itself Alpha, and it publishes no figure for how many items that search covers.

When each of these is the right pick

BlockDex does not sell any of these and scores them. Each case below is the one that option wins.

  • 21st.dev: You want breadth and you work by pasting a prompt into an agent rather than by running a CLI. It is the largest catalogue of the four at "12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes", it is the only one whose delivery mechanism is the prompt itself — "every component ships as a prompt. One copy - and it builds itself in whatever tool you live in" — and it is the cheapest recurring entry here at $6 a month billed yearly, with unlimited MCP and CLI retrieval on that tier.
  • Shoogle: You want the answer inside the tool you are already in rather than in a browser tab. Shoogle is the only one here that registers as a shadcn NAMESPACE, so `npx shadcn@latest search @shoogle` searches across community registries from the terminal and the install runs through the official CLI — no site, no copy-paste, and the same route works from any MCP client that speaks streamable HTTP. It is the shortest path from "is there a component for this" to the component being in the project. It also labels itself Alpha, and it publishes no figure for how many items that search covers.

Other shadcn registries and block libraries compared head to head

What was checked, and when

Prices and limits move. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it on the day they read this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.

Every cell above was confirmed against its own source on or since 2026-09-06. /compare/21st-dev-vs-shoogle