Item level, crawled nightly
crawl 3 days agoSearch the index
75,944 items985 registries34,217 verified free11,020 verified paid30,707 unverified18,895 previewable live11,371 removed in 30 daysrebuilt 2026-09-13 · captured 2026-09-13

21st.dev vs shadcn/ui registry directory

2 compared on 6 criteria

On what you get without paying, 21st.dev does not publish it and shadcn/ui registry directory is All of it. On cheapest paid option, 21st.dev is $6/month, billed yearly (Builder) and shadcn/ui registry directory does not publish it. On what it publishes, 21st.dev is 12,000+ components, templates and themes and shadcn/ui registry directory does not publish it. On how you install from it, 21st.dev is Copy a prompt, or MCP and CLI and shadcn/ui registry directory is npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>. On how something gets listed, 21st.dev does not publish it and shadcn/ui registry directory is A documented add-a-registry route. On what it says about the code's quality, 21st.dev is Authorship, stated as the guarantee and shadcn/ui registry directory is Explicitly not reviewed, and it says so. BlockDex publishes this table and is one of the things in it, so read the case for the other side below rather than taking the table's word for it. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-06; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.

compared2criteria6sources read3verified2026-09-06
Criterion21st.devshadcn/ui registry directoryWhat you get without payingNot publishedThe pricing page publishes three plans — Builder, Builder + AI and Team — and none of them is a free tier. Browsing the catalogue does not appear to require an account, but the site publishes no free plan, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer.All of it"Discover community registries for shadcn/ui components and blocks. These registries are built into the CLI with no additional configuration required." No account and no key; what each listed registry charges is its own business.Cheapest paid option$6/month, billed yearly (Builder)"Builder — for individuals. $6 per month billed yearly." Builder + AI is $15 a month on the same terms and adds 500–2,000 monthly AI credits; Team is per seat. A yearly/quarterly toggle on the page offers "save 25%".Not publishedThe registry directory and the registry documentation publish no price, plan or tier of any kind. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026.What it publishes12,000+ components, templates and themes"The living library of interfaces. 12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes." Broken down on the same page as 2,000+ marketing blocks and 2,100+ UI components, with "used by 3,190,767 builders".Not publishedThe directory lists community registries but publishes no total for how many it carries and no per-registry item count. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026 — which is the specific gap BlockDex crawls to fill.How you install from itCopy a prompt, or MCP and CLIThe primary route is the prompt — "Copy the prompt. Paste it anywhere" — with unlimited MCP and CLI retrieval listed on every paid tier: "search components via mcp & cli", "unlimited installs via mcp & cli". The only one of the four that installs by pasting into an agent.npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>The canonical command, and the reason the other three all reference this CLI rather than shipping their own. The docs add that "the registry works with any project type and any framework, and is not limited to React".How something gets listedNot publishedNeither the pricing page nor the front page publishes a submission or contribution route for getting a component into the marketplace, or terms for authors who do. Both were read on 14 August 2026.A documented add-a-registry route"Don't see a registry? Learn how to add it here", with "Add a registry — learn how to add a registry to the directory" as its own documentation page beside Getting started, Authentication and Namespaces.What it says about the code's qualityAuthorship, stated as the guaranteeThe claim is about who wrote it rather than about what checks it: "built by real design engineers", under a pricing-page headline that reads "Keep the web free of AI slop". No review process, test or automated check is published.Explicitly not reviewed, and it says so"Community registries are maintained by third-party developers. Always review code on installation to ensure it meets your security and quality standards." The only one of the four that states the limit of its own vouching rather than implying there is none.

BlockDex publishes this table and is not one of the 2 compared. "Not published" means that company does not state the figure on the page cited below. It is not a claim that no such figure exists: this table prints what was read, not what was inferred.

21st.dev vs shadcn/ui registry directory — what you get without paying?

21st.dev does not state it on 21st.dev. The pricing page publishes three plans — Builder, Builder + AI and Team — and none of them is a free tier. Browsing the catalogue does not appear to require an account, but the site publishes no free plan, so this is what the page carries rather than what a visitor can infer. shadcn/ui registry directory: All of it. "Discover community registries for shadcn/ui components and blocks. These registries are built into the CLI with no additional configuration required." No account and no key; what each listed registry charges is its own business. Read from 21st.dev and ui.shadcn.com on 2026-09-06.

21st.dev vs shadcn/ui registry directory — cheapest paid option?

21st.dev: $6/month, billed yearly (Builder). "Builder — for individuals. $6 per month billed yearly." Builder + AI is $15 a month on the same terms and adds 500–2,000 monthly AI credits; Team is per seat. A yearly/quarterly toggle on the page offers "save 25%". shadcn/ui registry directory does not state it on ui.shadcn.com. The registry directory and the registry documentation publish no price, plan or tier of any kind. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026. Read from 21st.dev and ui.shadcn.com on 2026-09-06.

21st.dev vs shadcn/ui registry directory — what it publishes?

21st.dev: 12,000+ components, templates and themes. "The living library of interfaces. 12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes." Broken down on the same page as 2,000+ marketing blocks and 2,100+ UI components, with "used by 3,190,767 builders". shadcn/ui registry directory does not state it on ui.shadcn.com. The directory lists community registries but publishes no total for how many it carries and no per-registry item count. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026 — which is the specific gap BlockDex crawls to fill. Read from 21st.dev and ui.shadcn.com on 2026-09-06.

When should I pick 21st.dev, and when shadcn/ui registry directory?

21st.dev — You want breadth and you work by pasting a prompt into an agent rather than by running a CLI. It is the largest catalogue of the four at "12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes", it is the only one whose delivery mechanism is the prompt itself — "every component ships as a prompt. One copy - and it builds itself in whatever tool you live in" — and it is the cheapest recurring entry here at $6 a month billed yearly, with unlimited MCP and CLI retrieval on that tier. shadcn/ui registry directory — You want the first-party answer and the shortest possible path from finding a component to having it in your repository. This is the mechanism every other entry here sits on top of, it costs nothing, and the registries in it are "built into the CLI with no additional configuration required" — so `npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>` works with no account, no key and no config. It is also the only one of the four that tells you plainly what it does not do.

When each of these is the right pick

BlockDex does not sell any of these and scores them. Each case below is the one that option wins.

  • 21st.dev: You want breadth and you work by pasting a prompt into an agent rather than by running a CLI. It is the largest catalogue of the four at "12,000+ crafted React components, templates, and shadcn themes", it is the only one whose delivery mechanism is the prompt itself — "every component ships as a prompt. One copy - and it builds itself in whatever tool you live in" — and it is the cheapest recurring entry here at $6 a month billed yearly, with unlimited MCP and CLI retrieval on that tier.
  • shadcn/ui registry directory: You want the first-party answer and the shortest possible path from finding a component to having it in your repository. This is the mechanism every other entry here sits on top of, it costs nothing, and the registries in it are "built into the CLI with no additional configuration required" — so `npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>` works with no account, no key and no config. It is also the only one of the four that tells you plainly what it does not do.

Other shadcn registries and block libraries compared head to head

What was checked, and when

Prices and limits move. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it on the day they read this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.

Every cell above was confirmed against its own source on or since 2026-09-06. /compare/21st-dev-vs-shadcn-registry