Item level, crawled nightly
crawl 3 days agoSearch the index
75,944 items985 registries34,217 verified free11,020 verified paid30,707 unverified18,895 previewable live11,371 removed in 30 daysrebuilt 2026-09-13 · captured 2026-09-13

shadcn/ui registry directory vs awesome-shadcn/ui

2 compared on 6 criteria

On what you get without paying, shadcn/ui registry directory is All of it and awesome-shadcn/ui is All of it, MIT. On cheapest paid option, shadcn/ui registry directory does not publish it and awesome-shadcn/ui does not publish it. On what it publishes, shadcn/ui registry directory does not publish it and awesome-shadcn/ui does not publish it. On how you install from it, shadcn/ui registry directory is npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component> and awesome-shadcn/ui does not publish it. On how something gets listed, shadcn/ui registry directory is A documented add-a-registry route and awesome-shadcn/ui is Pull request, against five published rules. On what it says about the code's quality, shadcn/ui registry directory is Explicitly not reviewed, and it says so and awesome-shadcn/ui is Human review plus three CI workflows. BlockDex publishes this table and is one of the things in it, so read the case for the other side below rather than taking the table's word for it. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-06; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.

compared2criteria6sources read3verified2026-09-06
Criterionshadcn/ui registry directoryawesome-shadcn/uiWhat you get without payingAll of it"Discover community registries for shadcn/ui components and blocks. These registries are built into the CLI with no additional configuration required." No account and no key; what each listed registry charges is its own business.All of it, MITA public GitHub repository — 20.3k stars, MIT licence shown in its own sidebar — and free use is also a condition of being listed: "It is free to use. Open source is the norm here … What does not get in is a product that is paid end to end, with no free tier and no public code."Cheapest paid optionNot publishedThe registry directory and the registry documentation publish no price, plan or tier of any kind. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026.Not publishedThere is nothing to buy: the list is a repository, and it publishes no price, plan or sponsorship tier for readers. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026.What it publishesNot publishedThe directory lists community registries but publishes no total for how many it carries and no per-registry item count. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026 — which is the specific gap BlockDex crawls to fill.Not publishedThe list is a set of markdown tables with a Name, Description, Link and Date column, and publishes no total. Its headline numbers are repository numbers — 20.3k stars, 1.3k forks — not item counts.How you install from itnpx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>The canonical command, and the reason the other three all reference this CLI rather than shipping their own. The docs add that "the registry works with any project type and any framework, and is not limited to React".Not publishedThere is no installer and no manifest; every row is a link, and installation is whatever the linked project documents. What the list does require is that the thing be installable somewhere — its first acceptance rule names "a registry you can install from, a port, a plugin, a tool built for shadcn projects".How something gets listedA documented add-a-registry route"Don't see a registry? Learn how to add it here", with "Add a registry — learn how to add a registry to the directory" as its own documentation page beside Getting started, Authentication and Namespaces.Pull request, against five published rules"Two ways to submit" — a form on awesomeshadcn.dev that opens the pull request for you, or editing README.md directly — and "either way, one resource per pull request". Acceptance is explicit: "a resource has to clear all five", the first being that it is genuinely about shadcn/ui rather than merely using it.What it says about the code's qualityExplicitly not reviewed, and it says so"Community registries are maintained by third-party developers. Always review code on installation to ensure it meets your security and quality standards." The only one of the four that states the limit of its own vouching rather than implying there is none.Human review plus three CI workflows"Three workflows run on your pull request and on main": Format README, which "fails if any name or url is duplicated, or if a row has no usable link"; Add dates, which stamps the date column; and Link check, which "runs weekly across the whole list and reports broken links in an issue". The only automated ongoing check of the four — and it checks that links resolve, not that code works.

BlockDex publishes this table and is not one of the 2 compared. "Not published" means that company does not state the figure on the page cited below. It is not a claim that no such figure exists: this table prints what was read, not what was inferred.

shadcn/ui registry directory vs awesome-shadcn/ui — what you get without paying?

shadcn/ui registry directory: All of it. "Discover community registries for shadcn/ui components and blocks. These registries are built into the CLI with no additional configuration required." No account and no key; what each listed registry charges is its own business. awesome-shadcn/ui: All of it, MIT. A public GitHub repository — 20.3k stars, MIT licence shown in its own sidebar — and free use is also a condition of being listed: "It is free to use. Open source is the norm here … What does not get in is a product that is paid end to end, with no free tier and no public code.". Read from ui.shadcn.com and github.com on 2026-09-06.

shadcn/ui registry directory vs awesome-shadcn/ui — cheapest paid option?

shadcn/ui registry directory does not state it on ui.shadcn.com. The registry directory and the registry documentation publish no price, plan or tier of any kind. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026. awesome-shadcn/ui does not state it on github.com. There is nothing to buy: the list is a repository, and it publishes no price, plan or sponsorship tier for readers. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026. Read from ui.shadcn.com and github.com on 2026-09-06.

shadcn/ui registry directory vs awesome-shadcn/ui — what it publishes?

shadcn/ui registry directory does not state it on ui.shadcn.com. The directory lists community registries but publishes no total for how many it carries and no per-registry item count. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026 — which is the specific gap BlockDex crawls to fill. awesome-shadcn/ui does not state it on github.com. The list is a set of markdown tables with a Name, Description, Link and Date column, and publishes no total. Its headline numbers are repository numbers — 20.3k stars, 1.3k forks — not item counts. Read from ui.shadcn.com and github.com on 2026-09-06.

When should I pick shadcn/ui registry directory, and when awesome-shadcn/ui?

shadcn/ui registry directory — You want the first-party answer and the shortest possible path from finding a component to having it in your repository. This is the mechanism every other entry here sits on top of, it costs nothing, and the registries in it are "built into the CLI with no additional configuration required" — so `npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>` works with no account, no key and no config. It is also the only one of the four that tells you plainly what it does not do. awesome-shadcn/ui — You want the rules a listing was judged by written down where you can read them, and you want to browse rather than install. It is the only one of the four that publishes its acceptance criteria in full — "this page is the full set of rules a submission is judged by - nothing is checked that isn't written here", five conditions, one resource per pull request — and the only one running an automated link check across its whole list every week. It is also the only one whose free-to-use requirement is a listing criterion rather than a pricing decision.

When each of these is the right pick

BlockDex does not sell any of these and scores them. Each case below is the one that option wins.

  • shadcn/ui registry directory: You want the first-party answer and the shortest possible path from finding a component to having it in your repository. This is the mechanism every other entry here sits on top of, it costs nothing, and the registries in it are "built into the CLI with no additional configuration required" — so `npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>` works with no account, no key and no config. It is also the only one of the four that tells you plainly what it does not do.
  • awesome-shadcn/ui: You want the rules a listing was judged by written down where you can read them, and you want to browse rather than install. It is the only one of the four that publishes its acceptance criteria in full — "this page is the full set of rules a submission is judged by - nothing is checked that isn't written here", five conditions, one resource per pull request — and the only one running an automated link check across its whole list every week. It is also the only one whose free-to-use requirement is a listing criterion rather than a pricing decision.

Other shadcn registries and block libraries compared head to head

What was checked, and when

Prices and limits move. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it on the day they read this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.

Every cell above was confirmed against its own source on or since 2026-09-06. /compare/shadcn-registry-vs-awesome-shadcn-ui