Item level, crawled nightly
crawl 3 days agoSearch the index
75,944 items985 registries34,217 verified free11,020 verified paid30,707 unverified18,895 previewable live11,371 removed in 30 daysrebuilt 2026-09-13 · captured 2026-09-13

shadcnblocks.com vs awesome-shadcn/ui

2 compared on 6 criteria

On what you get without paying, shadcnblocks.com is Free blocks, behind a login and awesome-shadcn/ui is All of it, MIT. On cheapest paid option, shadcnblocks.com is $149 one-time (Pro, lifetime) and awesome-shadcn/ui does not publish it. On what it publishes, shadcnblocks.com is 2104+ components, 1858+ blocks and awesome-shadcn/ui does not publish it. On how you install from it, shadcnblocks.com is The official shadcn CLI and awesome-shadcn/ui does not publish it. On how something gets listed, shadcnblocks.com does not publish it and awesome-shadcn/ui is Pull request, against five published rules. On what it says about the code's quality, shadcnblocks.com is Hand-designed in-house and awesome-shadcn/ui is Human review plus three CI workflows. BlockDex publishes this table and is one of the things in it, so read the case for the other side below rather than taking the table's word for it. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-06; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.

compared2criteria6sources read4verified2026-09-06
Criterionshadcnblocks.comawesome-shadcn/uiWhat you get without payingFree blocks, behind a login"Try our free blocks first. Browse free blocks in the library-ready to copy/paste. Basic-tier blocks only require a login; see the full catalog for every category." The site reports 22,162 free users against 5,420 pro customers.All of it, MITA public GitHub repository — 20.3k stars, MIT licence shown in its own sidebar — and free use is also a condition of being listed: "It is free to use. Open source is the norm here … What does not get in is a product that is paid end to end, with no free tier and no public code."Cheapest paid option$149 one-time (Pro, lifetime)"Pro plan — lifetime access $149 /one-time … single user, lifetime access & updates, 2093+ pro components, 1678+ pro blocks." Premium is $299 and Elite $399, both one-time, adding templates, a Figma kit, an admin kit and pre-built pages. The only lifetime licence of the four.Not publishedThere is nothing to buy: the list is a repository, and it publishes no price, plan or sponsorship tier for readers. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026.What it publishes2104+ components, 1858+ blocks"2104+ Pro Components" and "1858+ Pro Blocks" on every one of the three lifetime plans, with 20 Premium Templates and a 484-screen Figma Kit on the higher two. The page also publishes its own rate of change — "50+ New components each month", "100+ New blocks each month" — which is why a figure copied from it goes stale: it read 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks on 2026-08-21 and 2104+/1858+ eleven days later.Not publishedThe list is a set of markdown tables with a Name, Description, Link and Date column, and publishes no total. Its headline numbers are repository numbers — 20.3k stars, 1.3k forks — not item counts.How you install from itThe official shadcn CLI"All components and blocks available via the official shadcn CLI 'npx shadcn add'", with "all blocks searchable via the official shadcn MCP" and an IDE extension for VS Code and Cursor listed beside it.Not publishedThere is no installer and no manifest; every row is a link, and installation is whatever the linked project documents. What the list does require is that the thing be installable somewhere — its first acceptance rule names "a registry you can install from, a port, a plugin, a tool built for shadcn projects".How something gets listedNot publishedNo submission, contribution or author route is published on the pricing page. What that page does publish is a first-party production cadence — "50+ new components each month, 100+ new blocks each month, 10+ new pages each month, 1+ new template each month" — which describes a catalogue the site writes rather than one it collects.Pull request, against five published rules"Two ways to submit" — a form on awesomeshadcn.dev that opens the pull request for you, or editing README.md directly — and "either way, one resource per pull request". Acceptance is explicit: "a resource has to clear all five", the first being that it is genuinely about shadcn/ui rather than merely using it.What it says about the code's qualityHand-designed in-houseThe templates are "hand designed and built Next.js & Astro multi-page marketing templates built with shadcn/ui and figma files". As with 21st.dev the claim is about authorship rather than about a review step, but here everything is first-party, so there is no third-party code to review.Human review plus three CI workflows"Three workflows run on your pull request and on main": Format README, which "fails if any name or url is duplicated, or if a row has no usable link"; Add dates, which stamps the date column; and Link check, which "runs weekly across the whole list and reports broken links in an issue". The only automated ongoing check of the four — and it checks that links resolve, not that code works.

BlockDex publishes this table and is not one of the 2 compared. "Not published" means that company does not state the figure on the page cited below. It is not a claim that no such figure exists: this table prints what was read, not what was inferred.

shadcnblocks.com vs awesome-shadcn/ui — what you get without paying?

shadcnblocks.com: Free blocks, behind a login. "Try our free blocks first. Browse free blocks in the library-ready to copy/paste. Basic-tier blocks only require a login; see the full catalog for every category." The site reports 22,162 free users against 5,420 pro customers. awesome-shadcn/ui: All of it, MIT. A public GitHub repository — 20.3k stars, MIT licence shown in its own sidebar — and free use is also a condition of being listed: "It is free to use. Open source is the norm here … What does not get in is a product that is paid end to end, with no free tier and no public code.". Read from shadcnblocks.com and github.com on 2026-09-06.

shadcnblocks.com vs awesome-shadcn/ui — cheapest paid option?

shadcnblocks.com: $149 one-time (Pro, lifetime). "Pro plan — lifetime access $149 /one-time … single user, lifetime access & updates, 2093+ pro components, 1678+ pro blocks." Premium is $299 and Elite $399, both one-time, adding templates, a Figma kit, an admin kit and pre-built pages. The only lifetime licence of the four. awesome-shadcn/ui does not state it on github.com. There is nothing to buy: the list is a repository, and it publishes no price, plan or sponsorship tier for readers. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026. Read from shadcnblocks.com and github.com on 2026-09-06.

shadcnblocks.com vs awesome-shadcn/ui — what it publishes?

shadcnblocks.com: 2104+ components, 1858+ blocks. "2104+ Pro Components" and "1858+ Pro Blocks" on every one of the three lifetime plans, with 20 Premium Templates and a 484-screen Figma Kit on the higher two. The page also publishes its own rate of change — "50+ New components each month", "100+ New blocks each month" — which is why a figure copied from it goes stale: it read 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks on 2026-08-21 and 2104+/1858+ eleven days later. awesome-shadcn/ui does not state it on github.com. The list is a set of markdown tables with a Name, Description, Link and Date column, and publishes no total. Its headline numbers are repository numbers — 20.3k stars, 1.3k forks — not item counts. Read from shadcnblocks.com and github.com on 2026-09-06.

When should I pick shadcnblocks.com, and when awesome-shadcn/ui?

shadcnblocks.com — You want whole page sections rather than components, you want them from one hand, and you would rather pay once than subscribe. It is the only one of the four with a lifetime licence — $149 one-time for 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks — the only one shipping a Figma kit and an admin kit alongside the code, and the only one publishing a maintenance cadence you can hold it to: "50+ new components each month, 100+ new blocks each month", established 2023. awesome-shadcn/ui — You want the rules a listing was judged by written down where you can read them, and you want to browse rather than install. It is the only one of the four that publishes its acceptance criteria in full — "this page is the full set of rules a submission is judged by - nothing is checked that isn't written here", five conditions, one resource per pull request — and the only one running an automated link check across its whole list every week. It is also the only one whose free-to-use requirement is a listing criterion rather than a pricing decision.

When each of these is the right pick

BlockDex does not sell any of these and scores them. Each case below is the one that option wins.

  • shadcnblocks.com: You want whole page sections rather than components, you want them from one hand, and you would rather pay once than subscribe. It is the only one of the four with a lifetime licence — $149 one-time for 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks — the only one shipping a Figma kit and an admin kit alongside the code, and the only one publishing a maintenance cadence you can hold it to: "50+ new components each month, 100+ new blocks each month", established 2023.
  • awesome-shadcn/ui: You want the rules a listing was judged by written down where you can read them, and you want to browse rather than install. It is the only one of the four that publishes its acceptance criteria in full — "this page is the full set of rules a submission is judged by - nothing is checked that isn't written here", five conditions, one resource per pull request — and the only one running an automated link check across its whole list every week. It is also the only one whose free-to-use requirement is a listing criterion rather than a pricing decision.

Other shadcn registries and block libraries compared head to head

What was checked, and when

Prices and limits move. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it on the day they read this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.

Every cell above was confirmed against its own source on or since 2026-09-06. /compare/shadcnblocks-vs-awesome-shadcn-ui