shadcnblocks.com vs shadcn/ui registry directory
2 compared on 6 criteriaOn what you get without paying, shadcnblocks.com is Free blocks, behind a login and shadcn/ui registry directory is All of it. On cheapest paid option, shadcnblocks.com is $149 one-time (Pro, lifetime) and shadcn/ui registry directory does not publish it. On what it publishes, shadcnblocks.com is 2104+ components, 1858+ blocks and shadcn/ui registry directory does not publish it. On how you install from it, shadcnblocks.com is The official shadcn CLI and shadcn/ui registry directory is npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>. On how something gets listed, shadcnblocks.com does not publish it and shadcn/ui registry directory is A documented add-a-registry route. On what it says about the code's quality, shadcnblocks.com is Hand-designed in-house and shadcn/ui registry directory is Explicitly not reviewed, and it says so. BlockDex publishes this table and is one of the things in it, so read the case for the other side below rather than taking the table's word for it. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-06; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
BlockDex publishes this table and is not one of the 2 compared. "Not published" means that company does not state the figure on the page cited below. It is not a claim that no such figure exists: this table prints what was read, not what was inferred.
shadcnblocks.com vs shadcn/ui registry directory — what you get without paying?
shadcnblocks.com: Free blocks, behind a login. "Try our free blocks first. Browse free blocks in the library-ready to copy/paste. Basic-tier blocks only require a login; see the full catalog for every category." The site reports 22,162 free users against 5,420 pro customers. shadcn/ui registry directory: All of it. "Discover community registries for shadcn/ui components and blocks. These registries are built into the CLI with no additional configuration required." No account and no key; what each listed registry charges is its own business. Read from shadcnblocks.com and ui.shadcn.com on 2026-09-06.
shadcnblocks.com vs shadcn/ui registry directory — cheapest paid option?
shadcnblocks.com: $149 one-time (Pro, lifetime). "Pro plan — lifetime access $149 /one-time … single user, lifetime access & updates, 2093+ pro components, 1678+ pro blocks." Premium is $299 and Elite $399, both one-time, adding templates, a Figma kit, an admin kit and pre-built pages. The only lifetime licence of the four. shadcn/ui registry directory does not state it on ui.shadcn.com. The registry directory and the registry documentation publish no price, plan or tier of any kind. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026. Read from shadcnblocks.com and ui.shadcn.com on 2026-09-06.
shadcnblocks.com vs shadcn/ui registry directory — what it publishes?
shadcnblocks.com: 2104+ components, 1858+ blocks. "2104+ Pro Components" and "1858+ Pro Blocks" on every one of the three lifetime plans, with 20 Premium Templates and a 484-screen Figma Kit on the higher two. The page also publishes its own rate of change — "50+ New components each month", "100+ New blocks each month" — which is why a figure copied from it goes stale: it read 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks on 2026-08-21 and 2104+/1858+ eleven days later. shadcn/ui registry directory does not state it on ui.shadcn.com. The directory lists community registries but publishes no total for how many it carries and no per-registry item count. Read on ui.shadcn.com's own directory page on 14 August 2026 — which is the specific gap BlockDex crawls to fill. Read from shadcnblocks.com and ui.shadcn.com on 2026-09-06.
When should I pick shadcnblocks.com, and when shadcn/ui registry directory?
shadcnblocks.com — You want whole page sections rather than components, you want them from one hand, and you would rather pay once than subscribe. It is the only one of the four with a lifetime licence — $149 one-time for 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks — the only one shipping a Figma kit and an admin kit alongside the code, and the only one publishing a maintenance cadence you can hold it to: "50+ new components each month, 100+ new blocks each month", established 2023. shadcn/ui registry directory — You want the first-party answer and the shortest possible path from finding a component to having it in your repository. This is the mechanism every other entry here sits on top of, it costs nothing, and the registries in it are "built into the CLI with no additional configuration required" — so `npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>` works with no account, no key and no config. It is also the only one of the four that tells you plainly what it does not do.
When each of these is the right pick
BlockDex does not sell any of these and scores them. Each case below is the one that option wins.
- shadcnblocks.com: You want whole page sections rather than components, you want them from one hand, and you would rather pay once than subscribe. It is the only one of the four with a lifetime licence — $149 one-time for 2093+ components and 1678+ blocks — the only one shipping a Figma kit and an admin kit alongside the code, and the only one publishing a maintenance cadence you can hold it to: "50+ new components each month, 100+ new blocks each month", established 2023.
- shadcn/ui registry directory: You want the first-party answer and the shortest possible path from finding a component to having it in your repository. This is the mechanism every other entry here sits on top of, it costs nothing, and the registries in it are "built into the CLI with no additional configuration required" — so `npx shadcn add @<registry>/<component>` works with no account, no key and no config. It is also the only one of the four that tells you plainly what it does not do.
Other shadcn registries and block libraries compared head to head
- 21st.dev vs shadcn/ui registry directory
- shadcn/ui registry directory vs awesome-shadcn/ui
- shadcn/ui registry directory vs Shoogle
- shadcnblocks.com vs awesome-shadcn/ui
- shadcnblocks.com vs Shoogle
What was checked, and when
Prices and limits move. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it on the day they read this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- shadcnblocks.com, www.shadcnblocks.com/: What you get without paying. Read 2026-09-06.
- shadcnblocks.com, www.shadcnblocks.com/pricing: Cheapest paid option, What it publishes, How you install from it, How something gets listed, What it says about the code's quality. Read 2026-09-06.
- shadcn/ui registry directory, ui.shadcn.com/directory: What you get without paying, Cheapest paid option, What it publishes, How you install from it, How something gets listed, What it says about the code's quality. Read 2026-09-06.
Every cell above was confirmed against its own source on or since 2026-09-06. /compare/shadcnblocks-vs-shadcn-registry